The Annual Conference:

Teaching the Teacher

Whether you're new to teaching or a seasoned pro, school owner or part-time assistant, the Teaching the Teacher conference is for you. Our conference presenters are women of high skill and deep experience. Like our membership itself, they represent a wide range of martial arts styles, and hold a common desire to share what they know for the betterment of all.

The Association of Women Martial Arts Instructors invites you to take part in this very special opportunity, to:

  • Network with other women who love and teach martial arts.
  • Learn from successful instructors and school owners with decades of experience.
  • Improve your best practices for sustaining your school and adding value for your students.
  • Share your expertise, and support other women in the martial arts and self-defense communities.
  • Relax and be the student instead of the teacher!
  • Applaud your colleagues receiving Rank Promotion or Recognition, or entering the Hall of Fame.


Location, Location, Location!

The conference is held in the first quarter of each year, at varied locations in the U.S.... but normally in a hotel setting with classroom space, workout space, excellent and reasonably-priced accommodations, and warm weather!

2022 will be an entirely Zoom conference, similar in format to the 2021 Conference.

Register for the Conference TODAY!

“It was so fun to get to attend this year. I learned so much and am implementing as we speak. It was great to make more connections and get to know folks more in this intimate environment.
Even if I can’t make it, I am going to make sure to send student teachers every year!"
-Sifu Michele Miller

2022 AWMAI Conference Schedule

(Note: all times are U.S. Central Time Zone)

 Time  FRIDAY  SATURDAY  SUNDAY
10:00 am - 11:30 am   Young and In Charge (Dysinger) Teaching Martial Arts to Special Needs Students (Wallander)
 Noon - 1:30 pm   Technique Concepts and Daily Movements (Delgado-Fitzgerald) Designing Drills to Develop Skills (Kaplowitz)
 2:00 pm - 2:30 pm Teacher Meeting (teachers only) Basic Emergency Preparedness Strategies (Trower) Where Reality-based Self-defense and Trauma-informed Teaching Meet (Arthur)
 2:45 pm - 3:30 pm Opening Welcome & Introductions
4:00 pm - 5:30 pm Navigating the Plateau (Masi) Get to the Point! Acupressure and Self-massage (Jones) Closing Ceremony
6:00 pm - 7:30 pm Member Meeting followed by Meet and Greet Awards / Demo followed by Social Time  
LEGEND Master Workout: Wear Uniform Moving Classroom: Wear Uniform; Note-taking Lecture/Discussion: Note-taking

Times listed are US Central Time Zone

Hawaii minus five hours GMT-11 5 am - 2:30 pm
Pacific minus two hours GMT-8 8 am - 5:30 pm
Mountain minus one hour GMT-7 9 am - 6:30 pm
Central GMT-6 10 am - 7:30 pm
Eastern plus one hour GMT-5 11 am - 8:30 pm
British plus six hours GMT 4 pm - 1:30 am
Central European plus seven hours GMT+1 5 pm - 2:30 am

Teaching the Teacher: Be a Presenter

AnaAWMAI actively seeks dynamic presenters for our annual conference. Share your knowledge, skills, experience and vision with a talented group of colleagues! Past topics have included:
  • Skill building for instructors
  • Creating an instructor training program
  • The challenges and joys of teaching children
  • Inventive warm-ups for all ages
  • Sales and marketing tactics to use (or avoid)
  • Taking your student body from 10 to 100 and beyond
  • The ins and outs of opening a school
  • Applying the principles of motor learning
  • Creating dynamic demonstrations
  • Social dynamics within the classroom
  • Recognizing abilities and differences

Classes may take the form of lecture/discussion, or “moving classroom,” where participants practice while they learn.

Applications for the 2022 conference are now closed.

Curious about past sessions? Here is a list of past class titles.

Get ready for AWMAI 2022

The 2022 Conference - a fully Zoom event - is open for registration.

Do you need scholarship funds? Apply HERE first to get your discount code before registering for the conference.

Register for the Conference HERE.

AWMAI

The Association of Women Martial Arts Instructors is a non-profit organization. ©2020 All rights reserved.
Mail: AWMAI, PO Box 4309, Davis CA 95617
Email: admin@awmai.org
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software